CS Motorized TQ: no restow (->Down) speedbrake after landing

Saldo
Posts: 909
Joined: 11 Dec 2014, 07:17
Location: Gorinchem, The Netherlands

Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Saldo » 20 May 2016, 20:10

Because I have been posting about the speedbrake not returning to Down after landing and adding thrust in another topic it seemed better to give it it's own topic.

This is in combination with the Cockpitsonic motorized TQ.
It is just not me. Also several others with a Cockpitsonic motorized TQ are experiencing the same.
I do not know if there are people with other brands of motorized TQ are having this too.

Marty has posted at 18 sep 2014 that from v1.38b37 and up the speedbrake will auto restow on the ground after landing according to the FCOM.


Ground Operation

During landing, the auto speed brake system operates when these conditions occur:
• SPEED BRAKE lever is in the ARMED position
• SPEED BRAKE ARMED light is illuminated
• radio altitude is less than 10 feet
* landing gear strut compresses on touchdown

Note: Compression of any landing gear strut enables the flight spoilers to
deploy. Compression of the right main landing gear strut enables the
ground spoilers to deploy.

• both thrust levers are retarded to IDLE
• main landing gear wheels spin up (more than 60 kts).

The SPEED BRAKE lever automatically moves to the UP position and the spoilers deploy.
If a wheel spin-up signal is not detected, when the air/ground system senses ground mode (any gear strut compresses) the SPEED BRAKE lever moves to the UP position and flight spoiler panels deploy automatically. When the right main landing gear strut compresses, a mechanical linkage opens the ground spoiler bypass valve and the ground spoilers deploy.
If the SPEED BRAKE lever is in the DOWN position during landing or rejected takeoff, the auto speed brake system operates when these conditions occur:
• main landing gear wheels spin up (more than 60 kts)
• both thrust levers are retarded to IDLE
• reverse thrust levers are positioned for reverse thrust.

The SPEED BRAKE lever automatically moves to the UP position and spoilers deploy.
After an RTO or landing, if either thrust lever is advanced, the SPEED BRAKE lever automatically moves to the DOWN detent and all spoiler panels retract. The spoiler panels may also be retracted by manually moving the SPEED BRAKE lever to the DOWN detent.



What I do :
After touchdown the speedbrake nicely deploys and the autobrakes are working too.
Below 60 knots I manually push the reverse levers back to idle and applying the toebrakes.
Just before the aircraft stops rolling I gently apply thrust.
No restow. No speedbrake automatically going back to Down.
AT is off like it should.

I tried with AP on and off.

Am I and several others doing something wrong or is it currently not supported ( v1.47.9) ?

Help is very appriciated....
Last edited by Saldo on 21 May 2016, 08:51, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,

Gerard

User avatar
pvc0056
Posts: 426
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 13:36
Location: Moonachie NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( motorized TQ )

Post by pvc0056 » 20 May 2016, 21:52

I have the same problem with my Cockpitsonic motorized TQ :(
Diego Sarmiento.
Image ImageImage

Fedorklootwijk
Posts: 250
Joined: 20 Jul 2015, 22:52

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( motorized TQ )

Post by Fedorklootwijk » 20 May 2016, 23:32

Gerard,

With Prosim 1.46 and CockpitForYou V3 motorized throttle no problem with the spoilers. The speedbrake lever returns to the down position as soon as I advance the throttle lever a bit after landing.

Fedor

Saldo
Posts: 909
Joined: 11 Dec 2014, 07:17
Location: Gorinchem, The Netherlands

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( motorized TQ )

Post by Saldo » 21 May 2016, 08:03

At this moment I have tried with :

- official release 1.46
- 1.46.45
- 1.47
- 1.47.6
- 1.47.8
- 1.47.9

The outcome is the same.
The power to the servo gets interrupted at the moment the speedbrake lever reaches Up.

And if other experience the same it would be nice if someone form Prosim can comment on this.
If restow is currently not working but on the fix lists we will wait.

I have asked the Aviation Mega Store ( Lucjtvaart Hobby Shop ) if it is working in their simulator and they will get back to me.

Because of no restow a correct GoAround is not possible according....


Additional
:

Just tried with beta 1.47.10 and the issue still exists...

Prosim MCP XML file :
<axis name="spoiler">
<marker input="847" output="0" label="Down" margin="0" />
<marker input="141" output="1000" label="Up" margin="0" />
<marker input="706" output="1" label="Armed" margin="15" />
</axis>
Regards,

Gerard

User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 4264
Joined: 14 Jun 2011, 11:21
Location: Nederland - Vlissingen
Contact:

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by dvincent » 21 May 2016, 08:53

Did it work with an earlier Prosim version ?
If not then it might be a driver problem and that's up to Torsten in that case.
Regards,
Dirk

Image

Saldo
Posts: 909
Joined: 11 Dec 2014, 07:17
Location: Gorinchem, The Netherlands

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Saldo » 21 May 2016, 09:15

dvincent wrote:Did it work with an earlier Prosim version ?
If not then it might be a driver problem and that's up to Torsten in that case.
In januari I started with Prosim and I have never seen it working...
Just since last month my sim was ready to do flights and from that moment on I remarked it.
Of coarse manually putting the speedbrake lever back to Down is working...

I approached Matthias Heinz from Uwe Schneider( EHID ) and yesterday he responded :

" Dear Gerard,

since the lever is moving this is neither a hardware nor a EHID problem. If you're using ProSim, please ask in their forum about this, it clearly sounds like a bug on their side.

Best regards
Matthias "
Regards,

Gerard

Fedorklootwijk
Posts: 250
Joined: 20 Jul 2015, 22:52

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Fedorklootwijk » 21 May 2016, 11:34

Gerard,

It looks as if there is a problem in the communication between Prosim and EHID, because with my CFY TQ the spoiler is working fine ( PS vs 1.46). Probably you did, but have you tried to reinstall the driver?

Fedor

Saldo
Posts: 909
Joined: 11 Dec 2014, 07:17
Location: Gorinchem, The Netherlands

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Saldo » 21 May 2016, 12:38

Fedorklootwijk wrote:Gerard,

It looks as if there is a problem in the communication between Prosim and EHID, because with my CFY TQ the spoiler is working fine ( PS vs 1.46). Probably you did, but have you tried to reinstall the driver?

Fedor
Hi Fedor,

Reinstalling EHID has not solved it.
You are probably right that it is something in the communication between Prosim and EHID.

As EHID is only the driver that controls the Cockpisonic hardware and to me it looks to me that either a setting on my system is not correct or Prosim does not sent a signal to EHID...

With the speedbrake slider I can control the servo to make it move up/down so EHID is working correctly and can be controlled from within Prosim.

I don't know if there is a way to check if EHID receives specific data when the speedbrake is supposed to go back to Down...?
Regards,

Gerard

Capitanfuturo
Posts: 317
Joined: 06 Nov 2013, 14:20
Location: Huizen, The Netherlands

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Capitanfuturo » 21 May 2016, 20:41

I have the same TQ, I also had this issue, and before I got around to fix it,
more strange things started to happen, the thrust levers for some reason started
to do everything the opposite way, I would press ToGa and instead of moving forward they would lock to idle.

To fix this I did an entire re-calibration and that also fixed the speed brakes issue.

Saldo
Posts: 909
Joined: 11 Dec 2014, 07:17
Location: Gorinchem, The Netherlands

Re: Speedbrake : no restow after landing ( CS motorized TQ )

Post by Saldo » 21 May 2016, 21:14

Capitanfuturo wrote:I have the same TQ, I also had this issue, and before I got around to fix it,
more strange things started to happen, the thrust levers for some reason started
to do everything the opposite way, I would press ToGa and instead of moving forward they would lock to idle.

To fix this I did an entire re-calibration and that also fixed the speed brakes issue.
Everything is working fine. Only the restow with speedbrake moving to Down not.
Up at touchdown is working fine and the throttles are working great too.
I have re-calibrated the speedbrake at least 5 times now in Prosim.

@capitanfuturo : did you calibrate it with EHID calibration before calibrating in Prosim MCP ?

I got feedback from the Aviation Mega Store ( Luchtvaart Hobby Shop ) : they did tried several landings.
Only one time the speedbrake returned to Down.
That was with a full stop and then after having waited till the engines were running at idle, giving just a little thrust.
Regards,

Gerard

Post Reply

Return to “Cockpitsonic”